Charlton Grant

Tell us a little about yourself.

My name is Charlton Grant. I’m 33 yrs old. Currently serving our country in Arlington, VA. 16 years of service so far. I’m an Army National Guard Officer holding the rank of Major. I have one daughter (Alantice). Played college football 2003-2007 at a Division II in South Carolina (Newberry College).

What got you into Bodybuilding?

I’ve always been into fitness my entire life. While serving I decided to follow my passion, and took night classes at the National Personal Training Institute to become a personal trainer. I shifted to competing after a tragic life event at the end of 2017. My father’s vehicle was struck by a train, and he died instantly. I had to focus on something difficult to keep my mind positive. I dedicated my 2018 bodybuilding season to him.

What is your biggest achievement to date?

Getting promoted to Major, and winning my PRO Card.

Do you have a favorite competition?

Men's Physique.

How do you prepare yourself before a competition?

Think of making my dad proud (mindset), make sure I have a legit plan, all the necessary tools to be successful, and some great music to listen to.

Do you have any training goals?

To develop my muscles while keeping them as symmetric as possible.

Do you have a particular training program?

No particular training program. Just make sure my attitude is on beast mode!

Where and how often do you train:

DMV Iron Gym, Alexandria, VA. At least 5 days a week.

Do you ever lose focus/motivation to train, and if so how do you overcome these situations?

Sometimes, just remember why I started in the first place. That usually allows me to re-focus. Discipline overcomes lack of motivation.

How focused is your diet?

Off season is focused, but not so strict. In-season my diet is very strict.

Do you have any food weaknesses?


What tips would you have for someone struggling with their diet?

Remind them to take responsibility of their health goals, and to make it flexible enough to not be miserable.

What’s something fun, or funny, about yourself that people don’t know?

If I’m watching a Netflix series, I tend to jump into my favorite character and mimic them randomly during my everyday life until I’ve completed the series.

Do you have any hobbies outside of bodybuilding?

Car Guy.

What do you love most about bodybuilding, and what’s something you would what to change?

The competitiveness. I wouldn’t change anything.

What advice would you give to any newbies interested in bodybuilding?

Believe in yourself, and believe in your process. Everyone is different. Never compare yourself to the next person.

Where/How did you hear about King Kong Apparel?

Arnold 2017.

What’s your favorite King Kong bag?


What’s the first word that comes to mind when I say King Kong Bags?